National Standards for Disability Services

On the 18 December 2013, the Standing Council on Disability Reform Ministers from all jurisdictions endorsed the revised National Standards for Disability Services (NSDS).

These standards are seen as a transitional reform enabling nationally consistent quality standards to apply for the disability services sector. They have a greater focus on person centered approaches and promote choice and control by people with disability. These are considered critical under the (NDIS) National Disability Insurance Scheme.

Six National Standards

There are 6 National Standards that apply to Disability Service providers.

1. Rights

2. Participation and Inclusion

3. Individual Outcomes

4. Feedback and Complaints

5. Service Access

6. Service Management

As a Disability Employment Service provider delivering Employment Support Services for the Department of Social Services, Global Skills adheres to and is certified against the new National Standards for Disability Services.

If you would like more information regarding the 6 National Standards and how they interact with Global Skills Employment Services, please contact Elizabeth GravesĀ atĀ

Note: Information Provided by